Six join Buck Buchanan Award Watch List

(STATS) – Six players were named midseason additions to the STATS FCS Buck Buchanan Award Watch List on Wednesday.

The Buchanan Award, first awarded in 1995 and presented to the FCS defensive player of the year, has sent past winners such as Dexter Coakley, Rashean Mathis, Jared Allen, Arthur Moats and Kyle Emanuel on to the NFL. A national panel of over 150 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries will vote on 25 finalists following the regular season.

The new nominees to the watch list:

Jared Farley, Northern Iowa, LB, Sr., 5-11, 224, Cedar Falls, Iowa

The son of UNI coach Mark Farley has ranked first or second on the team in tackles for three straight seasons, racking up 67 stops through six games this season.

Ahmad Gooden, Samford, DE, R-Jr., 6-1, 240, Talladega, Alabama

The athletic pass rusher has totaled 55 tackles, 10½ tackles for loss and 4½ sacks through six games.

Mario Jenkins, Idaho State, LB, R-Sr., 6-1, 245, Nampa, Idaho

In a season of big-time tackle totals, Jenkins ranks fourth nationally with 11.7 per game. He has six stops for loss with two forced fumbles and one recovery.

Warren Messer, Elon, LB, Jr., 5-11, 229, Garner, North Carolina

Surprising Elon has beaten three Top 25 teams and Messer had at least 12 tackles in each win. He’s filled the box score in so many ways this season.

Jonathan Peterson, San Diego, DE, R-Sr., 6-1, 240, Poway, California

The dominant pass rusher ranks first in the FCS with nine sacks and is tied for second in tackles for loss per game (2.1). He also has an FCS-high five forced fumbles.

Sione Teuhema, Southeastern Louisiana, LB, Sr., 6-4, 260, Keller, Texas

In his second season since transferring from LSU, Teuhema has terrorized the Southland Conference with 53 tackles, 14½ tackles for loss, eight sacks and five quarterback hurries.

Preseason nominees for the watch list were defensive ends Pat Afriyie of Colgate, Keontre Anderson of Jackson State, Andrew Ankrah of James Madison, Anthony Ellis of Charleston Southern, P.J. Hall of Sam Houston State, Kurt Holuba of Princeton, Darius Jackson of Jacksonville State, Greg Menard of North Dakota State and Ebenezer Ogundeko of Tennessee State; linebackers Nick DeLuca of North Dakota State, Garrett Dolan of Houston Baptist, Darius Leonard of South Carolina State, Christian Rozeboom of South Dakota State and Brett Taylor of Western Illinois; cornerbacks Davontae Harris of Illinois State and Tremon Smith of Central Arkansas; safeties Mike Basile of Monmouth, Marlon Bridges of Jacksonville State, Cole Reyes of North Dakota, Rob Rolle of Villanova and Kailik Williams of The Citadel.

Also this season, STATS will present the Walter Payton Award (FCS offensive player of the year), Jerry Rice Award (FCS freshman player of the year), Eddie Robinson Award (FCS coach of the year) and Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

Heupel, Kelly, Saban are finalists for AP coach of year

UCF’s Josh Heupel, Notre Dame’s Brian Kelly and Alabama’s Nick Saban are the finalists for ...

Eastern Washington beats Maine 50-19 in FCS semifinals

CHENEY, Wash. (AP) — This wasn’t the first time that Eastern Washington quarterback Eric Barriere ...

Utah State routs North Texas 52-13 in New Mexico Bowl

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. (AP) — Utah State walked into the New Mexico Bowl with one of ...